Vishnu is a member of Hindu trinities god. Vishnu also well known as Hari, Narayana. In Khmer ancient, many kings built the temple to dedicate to Vishnu and many Vishnu’s statues had found in Cambodia. In Khmer art, Vishnu always appeared with 4 hands or 8 hands. Garuda and Dragon named Anantasayin, also appear with Vishnu as his vehicles. Vishnu has two wives known as Leaksmey (born from churning of the ocean of milk) and Phumi.Vishnu has always appeared in legend stories as a hero who helped or protected human and the world from destruction. In Khmer temples, there were many scenes of legend stories of Vishnu. The popular and most shown in temples were Ramayana and Moha Parata.
Lives of Rama, Seda, and Preah Leak in The Forest
Arrived Kong Kea river, Kuha, King of Nisath Empire welcome them by himself with foods. Seda offered food to the sacred Kong Kea river, praying for happiness and promised to come back in 14 years later. After Seda’s praying, they decided to continue their journey, allowing charioteer named Somontra and the King to go back.
The Early Life of Rama
This story started talking about a kind king named Tusaroth, who reigned in Kaosal Empire, Ayudhaya city (Peaceful city in Khmer meaning). King Tusaroth had three wives but he didn’t have any child. He started to worry that he has no successor after he died, so he decided to consult with Brahman Veasesta. After he discussed with Brahman, he and his three wives decided to perform a large praying ceremony with many good deeds.
Statue of His Majesty King Norodom
This statue was a gift from Napoleon III, the emperor of France, to King Norodom in 1875. It was placed in the Silver pagoda in 1892. The canopy was added later by His Majesty King Norodom Sihanouk in 1953, when Cambodia obtained independence from France.
Library or Hor Preah Trai
Located at the right side of the Silver Pagoda, is a small library houses Tipitaka, the sacred Buddhist texts which we called Preah Trai Beydok in Khmer. And inside, there is a statue of Preah Ko or Nandi, a sacred bull. The statue was found in Koh Thom, Kandal province in 1983. It made of metals, which 80% silver estimated. The local visitors would wanting to touch the status, to feel how cold metals is.
Koeng Preah Bat
Koeng Preah Bat is located in the front right of the Silver pagoda, in which where the footprint of the first four Buddha’s are kept. The footprint were erected under the reign of His Majesty King Norodom.
A small artificial hill located at the right side of the Silver Pagoda, symbolized Mount Kailasa. On top of the hill built a shrine, inside there is a large Buddha footprint with 108 small effigies representing 108 past lives of Buddha before obtaining enlightenment.
Stupa of His Majesty Soramrith
There are several stupas within the whole complex of Silver pagoda. This picture is the stupa of His Majesty Soramrith, the King Father of His Majesty Norodom Sihanuk. Inside the stupa is containing the cremains of His Majesty Soramrith. Built in 1960.
There are two big stupas were built on the both side of the Statue of His Majesty Norodom. At the right one is the stupa of His Majesty Ang Duong. At the left one is the stupa of His Majesty Norodom, the Great Grand Father of King Norodom Sihanuk. This two stupas were built in 1908.
The Bell Hall
This is the bell hall located at the west of Preah Vihear Preah Keo Morakot or Silver pagoda. It’s used to note the opening and closing of the pagoda in various ceremonies. When there were monks classes studying Pali language in this pagoda, the bell is used as a sign to on and off classes.
The Silver Pagoda is surrounded by 642 meters long and 3 meters height compound wall. The walls are special. Because they are not just walls to protect the location, but they are attracted by murals depicting a completed story of Ramayana. The murals were painted in 1903. Currently, some part of the murals are deteriorated, but it doesn’t lose the unique beauty.
The starting point of the story is at the north of the entrance door. The visitors must walk along the wall to see the entire story.
The gallery of this compound wall was once used as classes for monks in Phnom Penh and other provinces to study Pali language. Because that time there was no Pali school opened.
These are wood columns laid in brick columns supporting roofs of entrance porch to Silver Pagoda, which are aged over 100 years.