Banteay Longvek (បន្ទាយលង្វែក) or Longvek city is an old capital city of Cambodia from 1529 to 1593. It was built in an area of 3km long and 2km wide by the Khmer King Chan Reachea from 1527-1529.
Longvek locates in Kampong Trolach district, Kampong Chhnang province, about 66 km from Phnom Penh. To travel there, we must travel on nation road no. 5, passing historical site Oudong Mountain, which locate about 45km from Phnom Penh, and forwarding for 21km more, Longvek is on the right side.
In 1593, Longvek was destroy by Siam military lead by Noreso. According to Khmer historical book, after victory at Longvek, Siam has taken many valuable items such as statues Preah Ko Preah Keo, war strategy books, also many professors, schoolars, wiseman were arrested to Siam. After Longvek has destroyed, the new capital was built at Oudong, near by Longvek, and named the capital as Oudong Mean Chey. So Khmer historian noted this period to a new period called Oudong Period, started from 1603 to 1859. Nowadays, Oudong is a sacred place, historical and tourism center. Beside the remaining building of the palace, many stupas of many kings were built, included stupa containing relic of Lord Buddha, Preah Satya Mony Chetdei.
Chan Chhaya Pavilion
Chan Chhaya Pavillion (Preah Thineang Chan Chhaya) was built in 1913 by king Sisovath as the honorary tribune, so that the king can view parades marching on the Sothearos street on National events and making statement to the public. It’s also a meeting and training place of royal dancers.
The Victory Gate faces east. This gate is symbolized the victory and happiness. It’s opened when there is the royal’s dignities such as official of the highest rank or ambassadors from other countries. Also in November every year of Water Festival, the King and the Queen would exit from this gate to watch the festival. The Royal Palace has four other gates, each has different purposes of use.
Phochani Pavilion was constructed in 1912 in the purpose to serve as meal reception place on the King’s birthday. It’s also a classical dance theater to serve the highest guess of the King.
Hor Samran Phirun
Hor Samran Phirun built in 1917 by king Sisovath. It’s located at the right side of the Throne Hall. It’s a waiting house for the king while he waits to mount an elephant for Royal procession.
Hor Samrith Phimean
Hor Samrith Phimean also built in 1917 by king Sisovath. It’s a repository for the royal regalia and attributes. Currently, housing display of royal regalia and traditional costumes.
Preah Reach Damnak Chan
Preah Reach Damnak Chan built in 1959. This is the office places for the higher council of the Royal Palace.
The Royal Palace is served as the royal residence of the king of Cambodia. The officeal name for Royal Palace is Preah Barom Reacha Vaeng Chaktomuk. The common name called “The King’s Village”. Since Pre-Oudong period until now, there is always a royal palace served as residence of the King, the highest authority of the country. Every movement of the royal palace from place to place such as Angkor Borei, Sompob Borei, Eisan Borei, Hariharalaya, Yaksortharak Borei, Longvek, Uodong, and Chaktomuk, are historical events that Cambodian recorded accordingly. The last royal palace is the present royal palace in Phnom Penh.
The Royal Palace of Phnom Penh is built for the first time in 1434. But then the capital city was moved back to Oudong again in the reign of king Preah Bat Punnheayat. In 1866, again Phnom Penh became the capital city of Cambodia when King Norodom (The Grand Father of King Norodom Sihanuk) moved the royal capital from Oudong, and the royal palace was re-built since this year until 1870. The new name was given to the royal palace called Preah Reacha Vaeng Chaktomuk Mangkul.
The Royal Palace faces to the east. East is always believe to be the good direction. East in Khmer mean “to have” “to grow”. The Royal Palace is located at the western bank of the Chaktomuk River, where the four rivers ( Upper Mekong River, Lower Mekong River, Basak River, Tonle Sap River) converged.
The Royal Palace complex is within the area of 435m x 421m with large terrace decorated by beautiful gardens and surrounded by walls raised in 1873.
The Royal Palace of Cambodia is open everyday. Morning from 8:00am to 11:00am, afternoon from 2:00pm to 5:00pm. The Royal Palace is closed when there is special event in the Royal Palace only.