The Royal Palace is served as the royal residence of the king of Cambodia. The officeal name for Royal Palace is Preah Barom Reacha Vaeng Chaktomuk. The common name called “The King’s Village”. Since Pre-Oudong period until now, there is always a royal palace served as residence of the King, the highest authority of the country. Every movement of the royal palace from place to place such as Angkor Borei, Sompob Borei, Eisan Borei, Hariharalaya, Yaksortharak Borei, Longvek, Uodong, and Chaktomuk, are historical events that Cambodian recorded accordingly. The last royal palace is the present royal palace in Phnom Penh.
The Royal Palace of Phnom Penh is built for the first time in 1434. But then the capital city was moved back to Oudong again in the reign of king Preah Bat Punnheayat. In 1866, again Phnom Penh became the capital city of Cambodia when King Norodom (The Grand Father of King Norodom Sihanuk) moved the royal capital from Oudong, and the royal palace was re-built since this year until 1870. The new name was given to the royal palace called Preah Reacha Vaeng Chaktomuk Mangkul.
The Royal Palace faces to the east. East is always believe to be the good direction. East in Khmer mean “to have” “to grow”. The Royal Palace is located at the western bank of the Chaktomuk River, where the four rivers ( Upper Mekong River, Lower Mekong River, Basak River, Tonle Sap River) converged.
The Royal Palace complex is within the area of 435m x 421m with large terrace decorated by beautiful gardens and surrounded by walls raised in 1873.
The Royal Palace of Cambodia is open everyday. Morning from 8:00am to 11:00am, afternoon from 2:00pm to 5:00pm. The Royal Palace is closed when there is special event in the Royal Palace only.