Pavilions Within The Royal Palace Complex
Chan Chhaya Pavilion
Chan Chhaya Pavillion (Preah Thineang Chan Chhaya) was built in 1913 by king Sisovath as the honorary tribune, so that the king can view parades marching on the Sothearos street on National events and making statement to the public. It’s also a meeting and training place of royal dancers.
The Victory Gate faces east. This gate is symbolized the victory and happiness. It’s opened when there is the royal’s dignities such as official of the highest rank or ambassadors from other countries. Also in November every year of Water Festival, the King and the Queen would exit from this gate to watch the festival. The Royal Palace has four other gates, each has different purposes of use.
Phochani Pavilion was constructed in 1912 in the purpose to serve as meal reception place on the King’s birthday. It’s also a classical dance theater to serve the highest guess of the King.
Hor Samran Phirun
Hor Samran Phirun built in 1917 by king Sisovath. It’s located at the right side of the Throne Hall. It’s a waiting house for the king while he waits to mount an elephant for Royal procession.
Hor Samrith Phimean
Hor Samrith Phimean also built in 1917 by king Sisovath. It’s a repository for the royal regalia and attributes. Currently, housing display of royal regalia and traditional costumes.
Preah Reach Damnak Chan
Preah Reach Damnak Chan built in 1959. This is the office places for the higher council of the Royal Palace.