This picture is Sen River which was taken from the building of Trai Lok Trai Leak pagoda. Sen River is the largest river (steng) in Cambodia (about 300km long). It originates from Dorng Rek mountain range in Preah Vihear Province, and lies within Preah Vihear and Kampong Thom, finally it flows into Tonle Sap Lake.
Steng Sen is an important river for people living along it. It contains big amount of water from Tonle Sap Lake in rainy season and still can supplies until the dry season. Moreover, Steng Sen is home of many kinds of freshwater fish and migratory birds in Cambodia.
Sambo PreyKuk temple is one of a cultural and historical sites in Kampong Thom province. It located in Sambo district, about 35 km north of the provincial. Because of the ages of the temple and its special architectures, Sambo PreyKuk Temple is preparing to be listed as world heritages site in Cambodia.
Sambo PreyKuk was the capital city of Chenla Period (Pre-Angkorian) called Isanapurak or Ey San Borak during the reign of King Isanavarman I (616-635 AD).This is also one of the reason which this temple will be listed as world heritage.
The National Museum of Cambodia is a treasure house of Khmer culture which displays the world’s largest collection of Khmer cultural materials including sculpture, ceramics and ethnographic objects from the prehistoric, Pre-Angkorian, Angkorian, and Post-Angkorian periods.
The National Museum of Cambodia was first built in 1917 as the master plan of French architect George Groslier. The museum was inaugurated on 13 April 1920, on the Khmer new year day, in the presence of H.M King Sisovath.
The museum was constructed from the four pieces of courtyards, facing to the opening space at the middle. At the east courtyard, displays Post-Angkorian Buddha statues and many other objects made of bronze. At the north side, displays statues made of laterite dating from 6th to 9th century of Bapuon style. At the west displays statues of Angkor and Bayon style. And at the south, displays ceramic objects.
The main activities of the National Museum of Cambodia is not only exhibiting, but also safeguarding and promoting understanding of Cambodia’s cultural and artistic treasures. Currently, there are about 1877 works of art on display. And about 12,320 items are in storage.
Information for Visitor to the Museum
The National Museum of Cambodia is located on the street 13, next to the Royal Palace. With its warm red color, the building is instantly recognizable from the Sothearos Blvd. too. The ticket booth is at the corner of St. 13 and St. 178 (St. 178 is also so called as the street of Artists).
* Opening hours : 8am – 5pm daily
* Ticket price: USD$3 for foreign visitors. 500 Riels for Cambodians. Children and students are free of charge.
* Tour Guide is available in Khmer, English, French and Japanese. Cost USD$3/hour.
* Photography is allowed only at the museum exterior and courtyard.
* Post-cards, souvenirs, replica sculptures and books about art and culture are available at the main entrance store.
Some Pictures within the complex of the Museum of Phnom Penh
After the main gate to get into the Royal Palace, visitors must walk a short distance before arriving the Ticket Booth. Though, visitors don’t have to wait until they arrive any specific pavilion of the Royal Palace, they can always start to entertain the views along the way by taking photos as much as they like.
Statue of His Majesty King Norodom
This statue was a gift from Napoleon III, the emperor of France, to King Norodom in 1875. It was placed in the Silver pagoda in 1892. The canopy was added later by His Majesty King Norodom Sihanouk in 1953, when Cambodia obtained independence from France.
Library or Hor Preah Trai
Located at the right side of the Silver Pagoda, is a small library houses Tipitaka, the sacred Buddhist texts which we called Preah Trai Beydok in Khmer. And inside, there is a statue of Preah Ko or Nandi, a sacred bull. The statue was found in Koh Thom, Kandal province in 1983. It made of metals, which 80% silver estimated. The local visitors would wanting to touch the status, to feel how cold metals is.
Koeng Preah Bat
Koeng Preah Bat is located in the front right of the Silver pagoda, in which where the footprint of the first four Buddha’s are kept. The footprint were erected under the reign of His Majesty King Norodom.
A small artificial hill located at the right side of the Silver Pagoda, symbolized Mount Kailasa. On top of the hill built a shrine, inside there is a large Buddha footprint with 108 small effigies representing 108 past lives of Buddha before obtaining enlightenment.
Stupa of His Majesty Soramrith
There are several stupas within the whole complex of Silver pagoda. This picture is the stupa of His Majesty Soramrith, the King Father of His Majesty Norodom Sihanuk. Inside the stupa is containing the cremains of His Majesty Soramrith. Built in 1960.
There are two big stupas were built on the both side of the Statue of His Majesty Norodom. At the right one is the stupa of His Majesty Ang Duong. At the left one is the stupa of His Majesty Norodom, the Great Grand Father of King Norodom Sihanuk. This two stupas were built in 1908.
The Bell Hall
This is the bell hall located at the west of Preah Vihear Preah Keo Morakot or Silver pagoda. It’s used to note the opening and closing of the pagoda in various ceremonies. When there were monks classes studying Pali language in this pagoda, the bell is used as a sign to on and off classes.
The Silver Pagoda is surrounded by 642 meters long and 3 meters height compound wall. The walls are special. Because they are not just walls to protect the location, but they are attracted by murals depicting a completed story of Ramayana. The murals were painted in 1903. Currently, some part of the murals are deteriorated, but it doesn’t lose the unique beauty.
The starting point of the story is at the north of the entrance door. The visitors must walk along the wall to see the entire story.
The gallery of this compound wall was once used as classes for monks in Phnom Penh and other provinces to study Pali language. Because that time there was no Pali school opened.
These are wood columns laid in brick columns supporting roofs of entrance porch to Silver Pagoda, which are aged over 100 years.